Tuesday, 8 January 2013

Messi sets new record, emerges world’s best again

Lionel Messi remains the world’s best
Barcelona star, Lionel Messi, Monday, emerged the world’s best player for 2012 thereby setting a record as the first player to win the title four (consecutive) times.
Messi won the FIFA Ballon D’or Awards 2012 which took place today in Zurich Switzerland.
The Argentine start previously won the FIFA world player of the year award in 2009, 2010 and 2011.
“To tell you the truth, it is really unbelievable to win this award for the fourth consecutive time,” the Barcelona star said.
Abby Wambach of the U.S. emerged the best female player of the planet for 2012.
Players from Barcelona and Real Madrid dominated the FIFA 11 team of the year with Falcao of Athletico Madrid the only other player.
Several other awards were presented at the ceremony which was attended by sport administrators, footballers, and ex-footballers.
Below is the list of the awards presented at the ceremony
FIFPRO XI: Iker Casillas, Dani Alves, Gerard Pique, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Alonso, Xavi, Iniesta Messi, Falcao, and Ronaldo.
Vicente del Bosque named 2012 FIFA Coach of the Year
Franz Beckenbauer wins the FIFA Presidential Award 2012
The winner of the FIFA Fair Play Award 2012 is the Uzbekistan FA
FIFA Women’s World Player 2012: Abby Wambach (USA)
FIFA Ballon D’or: Lionel Messi
Post a Comment